Def Leppard’s Diamond Star Hallows is a Real Kick

Def Leppard - Diamond Star Hallows
Spread the love

Classic hard rockers Def Leppard have announced the release of Diamond Star Hallows – their first album of original music in seven years.

The “We’re Not Hair Metal” hitmakers (despite having one of the biggest hits of the Hair Metal era with “Pour Some Sugar on Me”) had recently been intriguing social media fans with a countdown timer on the band’s website.

Including a psychic hotline offering predictions for the big announcement.

No word if the hotline was $1.99 for the first minute and $.99 for each additional minute. It has since been taken down.

But we digress.

Hide the children. And get out of the way! 

Now that we’re all prepared. Diamond Star Halos is the follow-up to their 2015 eponymous-titled LP. Its lead single “Kick” is a fist-pumping, stadium-ready anthem.

Incidentally, Def Leppard’s upcoming stadium tour with Motley Crue and special guests Poison and Joan Jett kicks off on June 16 at Atlanta’s Truist Park. And concludes on September 9 in Las Vegas.

The Rock n Roll Hall of Famers still have something to say – and rightfully so!

Believe it or not, new rock music is a promotional tool for veteran acts. It gives journalists more to write about than just the act’s greatest hits.

Frontman Joe Elliot recently told Billboard: “Had we done that tour when we were supposed to, we’d have been doing the tour with no new music.”

“Now we’re doing it with a new album to promote, which puts a totally different slant on it.”

“I think the fact we’re going out there refreshed and energized by new music that we can incorporate into the show, which we wouldn’t have been able to do in 2020, is going to make a huge difference in the way we present ourselves.”

Diamond Star Hallows was recorded over the past two years with members residing in different countries.

Joe Elliot in Ireland. Bassist Rick Savage in England. And the rest of the blokes across The Pond in the United States.

“Without the pressure of timelines or a fixed schedule,” reads a press release, “they poured all of their energy into crafting 15 meaningful tracks with a mixture of classic spirit meets modern fire.”

“Everyone was due to come to my studio in Dublin the day lockdown kicked in,” Elliott told USA TODAY in a video chat from London. 

“We made the decision to record remotely because we had no option. We had seven songs to start with and we wrote eight more and not once did we see each other.” 

Harkening back to the glam rock-themed cover album YEAH!, thematically Def Leppard pays homage to their earliest collective influences such as David Bowie, T. Rex, and Mott The Hoople, among others. 

The title Diamond Star Hallows references T. Rex’s “Bang a Gong (Get It On).” 

There are also a few notable guest artists! Free of charge!

Multi-Grammy award-winning and legendary artist Alison Krauss (aka Mr John Waite and duet partner of Robert Plant) lent her instantly recognizable and angelic voice to “This Guitar” and “Lifeless,” while David Bowie pianist Mike Garson performs on “Goodbye For Good This Time” and “Angels (Can’t Help You Now).”

Are you ready to get rocked?

“There’s no doubt the song is pure Def Leppard, I have no doubt fans will love it, and from the reactions I’m seeing online they do.” –

“A great rock anthem, extremely catchy! Yes, I’m a huge fan of the Leps but this song really is excellent! Great guitars, great drums and decent lyrics.” –

Kick – Official Music Video

Man Enough

20th Century Boy

Def Leppard – Animal (London To Vegas 2020)


Work It Out

More info about Diamond Star Halos from Def Leppard Instagram:

Ready to ignite 2022, Def Leppard return with their twelfth full-length album, Diamond Star Halos, on May 27th, 2022. To herald the arrival of Diamond Star Halos, the band has released “Kick” – a powerful and rip-roaring new rock music single from the album.

The artwork design for Diamond Star Halos follows pedigree with instantly recognizable album covers from their celebrated past and follows the band’s influence through their eyes today.

2022 is the year of Def Leppard!

  • Diamond Star Halos tracklisting:
  • Take What You Want
  • Kick
  • Fire It Up
  • This Guitar [feat. Alison Krauss]
  • SOS Emergency
  • Liquid Dust
  • U Rok Mi
  • Goodbye For Good This Time
  • All We Need
  • Open Your Eyes
  • Gimme A Kiss
  • Angels (Can’t Help You Now)
  • Lifeless [feat. Alison Krauss]
  • Unbreakable
  • From Here To Eternity

Like Def Leppard? Check out these…

Chip Z’ Nuff – Heaven In A Bottle

KISSIN’ DYNAMITE – Not The End Of The Road